5 comments on “Five Things About Pokemon Black/White That Should Excite You

  1. The triple battles really look interesting. I can't wait to see how they actually play out. I'm curious if there's some way to do a Smash Bros. Triple Finish move.
    I also like the fact that each game has a whole different area. Before choosing a version was just about the Pokemon and you could always trade for those. Now there really seems like a difference in the games. Still not sure which one I'll pick up but I'm definitely going to pick up one.

  2. Not excited. Seems like the creators are just adding different shades of gameplay rather than risking changing it. Don't get me wrong, I like catching them all and the strategy of battles, but everything else is getting stale.

    -Each pokemon now has 8 still pictures that will animate during battle. Yay, better than nothing. Will they finally change the pokemon cries to something a little more modern?
    -Post elite battles won't be held in the frontier, but in a subway. You don't progress vertically now but horizontally!
    -Because 2v2 was fun, why not add one more pokemon in the match up?
    -And where is the option to skip, "the rain continues to fall" or "super effective hit"? Those are incredibly annoying and add too much time to simple battles.

    Just like any pokemon game before this, I'm going to buy it then stop playing it before I reach the sixth badge.

    As a side note, they should really make a new type of pokemon. The last ones were dark and steel back in the silver and gold days.

    End rant.

  3. @Hark, I can totally agree that they're not changing it as much as they could, but they ARE changing it. There's a lot that could be done. Personally I'd love to see a new type (Soul, Light maybe?) but that would require re-balancing the entire game. It was easier to do when there were 150+ Pokemon, but now that we're into 700+ it would take quite a bit effort and I don't think Nintendo has that kind of time if they want to keep selling games. If you take too much time developing games soon no one cares about them anymore. If Sakurai hadn't put Pit in Brawl I don't think there would be half as much excitement for the new Kid Icarus.
    I wish there was a lot changing, but the fact that there are changes make this look like a better Pokemon game since Gold and Silver.

  4. I agree glsnifit. There's only "so much" that can be done in one game.

    Maybe when the third game in this generation comes out (Pokemon Beige? Haha) We'll see some continued development.

Leave a comment